OK Teacher of the Year (2020) Jena Nelson

Pastors for Oklahoma Kids, a non-denominational organization of pastors and faithful from across the state that advocate for Oklahoma’s public school children, is proud to welcome Oklahoma’s 2020 Teacher of the Year Jena Nelson to their board of directors.

“I am honored to announce Jena Nelson is now a member of our board of directors,” said Rev. Clark Frailey, Executive Director & Co-Founder of Pastors for Oklahoma Kids. “Jena’s voice and the inspirational story of public education’s impact on her life will be invaluable as part of our board. In our brief history, we have already been successful as advocates for Oklahoma’s public school kids and Jena will be a big part of shaping the future work we do on behalf of these kids.”

Nelson teaches eighth-grade composition and academic enhancement at Deer Creek Middle School in Edmond, Oklahoma. A 15-year educator, she has taught many different subjects like English, composition, drama, and theater.

In 2020, she was selected by Congresswoman Kendra Horn to attend the State of the Union Address in Washington, D.C. Nelson serves as a member of the Oklahoma governor’s workforce council, Teacher Table initiative, Oklahoma ELA standards committee, superintendent’s teacher advisory committee, educator quality and diversity advisory committee, NSULA teacher education advisory committee, Deer Creek inclusivity committee, and ICAP (individual career and academic planning) teacher representative. 

Nelson is a proud recipient of the Chickasaw Nation/Oklahoman Newspapers in Education Award and the OKC Thunder Teacher of the Game.